big brother

2

October 6, 2014 by thegreatwideopenblog

big brother

I never thought I would be the victim of a surprise pregnancy. Surprises aren’t my thing. I like to have a plan. A baby wasn’t in the plan for about a million reasons. And yet here I am, halfway through this pregnancy, only to be surprised yet again. A baby GIRL. I am not even sure why I am so surprised. There was a 50/50 chance, right? I just thought that surely God would give me another boy. I get boys. I grew up with all brothers. I have boy clothes and toys. I have a husband. A son. What on earth will we do with a little girl??

From the minute we started trying to convince Davis that there was a baby growing in my belly, he has said it was a girl. So he’s not surprised at all. I’m a little bit sad at the thought of sharing my time and love with Davis…my little buddy that made me a momma. But I am so thankful he will get to experience life alongside the love of a little sister.

The West Texas Fair and Rodeo made it’s way back around to us. Every year proves to be more fun for Davis as he gets older. He jumped in the bouncy house, rode a pony, tried to hide from the animals in the petting zoo (for the third year in a row), rode rides with his Uncle Seth, won a giant inflatable sword, ate Aggie fries and watched the pretty lights.

pony ride game uncle seth swordbouncecarouselfair momma

We also went to the parade they put on downtown with some friends. He clapped or waved the entire parade.

parade1 parade2When he is tired of doing something, he tells us he’s “full”. His favorite movie is Despicable Me 2. His favorite snack is hummus and his favorite drink is Naked’s Green Machine Juice Smoothie. He goes into somewhat of a night time rage right before bed where he runs around the house and jumps on the beds, doing his best to avoid blinking for fear of sleep. His hair is long enough for a pony tail and he looks like he has chicken pox because he’s constantly covered in mosquito bite welts.

judah meme animals bubblesdarrellworkincheesinheadphonesfootballcowboymarmicoolpop

 

2 thoughts on “big brother

  1. Jane Harrison says:

    So excited for your sweet family. Isn’t it grand that LOVE only MULTIPLIES…it never divides. God knows you have MORE than enough to share with a darling daughter…enjoy the journey! God Bless You All.

  2. You’re having a baby! I could not be more thrilled for you! Nothing warms my heart more to think of a little girl entering that house -to think of Davis as a big brother. He is going to love her so well. May she be as beautiful and lovely as you. May she never fear or doubt the love of her parents and her brother. And may all of this be another chapter of joy and love.

    Always thankful for you – always thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

