18 months

1

October 8, 2013 by thegreatwideopenblog

bike2

We are halfway to having a 2 year old, people. My little firecracker is loud, loves to run and jump, is crazy about balloons and can eat an entire banana in under a minute.

pirates cooking remote backpack catnap cooking2 hats

He has started to talk in his sleep a little. The two things that I have heard him say loud and clear are “kitty” and “dog” both followed by the cutest sleepy giggle you’ve ever heard.

He wants to run everywhere. Which is unfortunate because he isn’t very good at it. He gets a mischievous grin on his face before he takes off and then as he gets going, he says “wunnnn”.

We just got through a pretty rough patch. It was about a 5 day phase of misery. I even took him to the doctor certain that he was dying of some terribly painful illness at one point. (He was perfectly healthy.) Some of D’s favorite things during this time included hitting Scarlett, stealing toys from Scarlett, hitting me, throwing fits, hitting the cats and whining.

His least favorite things during this phase were obeying and eating a well-balanced diet.

This phase made me want to wear a giant hoodie, listen to rap music, and chain smoke a pack of cigarettes. Don’t get me wrong. He still had some very sweet moments squeezed in there. I took as many pictures as I could during those sweet moments to remind myself why I became a mother. It really did help. I think we can thank another huge molar for the worst of it but I’m pretty sure I’m going to be one of those moms that has to read a book with “strong-willed child” somewhere in the title. Parenting is not for the weak.

momma

Lavan (“Nona”) and Scarlett (“Scarlee”) have been here on an extended visit! Davis adores them both. The babies chase each other and the cats around and Davis is teaching Scar some new words. We catch them hugging/kissing each other all the time. Within 5 minutes of him waking up in the morning as well as 5 minutes from me picking him up at school he says “Scarlee??” with a huge grin on his face.

cartoons pumpkins hug2 car hug1 bath jailbirds seesaw slide swings horse

And lastly, here is a 2012 pumpkin patch pic versus a 2013 pumpkin patch pic. Just another reminder of how precious every moment is and how quickly they go by.

pumpkin2012 pumpkin2013

One thought on “18 months

  1. Meredith Tracy says:

    How am I reading about 18 months?!!!! What a big boy…..he look specifically old in the pic with his backpack!

    Also, you need to frame the pic of him hugging you immediately.

    And look at is little baby face from last year’s pumpkin patch…..I’m dying!!! Love him!!

Leave a Reply

