2012 Year End Review/2013 New Beginnings

7

February 17, 2013 by lavandaw

2012 was probably one of the craziest, most stressful, amazing, most wonderful years of my life.  I was pregnant half of it, moved 4 times, had a baby, and moved states.  I’m still reeling from it all.  I’m exhausted.  I haven’t even wanted to write an update because I feel completely overwhelmed with information in my head.

Christmas was amazing with Scarlett, Davis and Emme all together.  Daniel, Alana and I (the parents of these children) all grew up together close in age like these kiddos are.  Aunt Audrey had made these shirts for us when we were kids so I made some just like em for our kids.  Don’t know when we’ll all be together again for Christmas so it was really special.  We had to have 50 lbs worth of toys and gifts shipped back to AZ when it was all said and done.  We’re pretty set on toys for awhile.

122412_0312 photo11

In 2013 I made 11 New Years resolutions.  I really don’t want to tell you what they are so that you won’t hold me accountable.  I have no idea what I was thinking making so many.  So far I’ve done one of them, which is how many I should have made.  I feel pretty good about that.

aaand..I’m 2 sizes away from being back to my original size (pre-pregnancy).(another resolution)  Sounds crazy, but I went from like a 0 to an 11 when it was all said and done..  Very depressing..so getting close to home feels good.  I think my bones have changed in a way that can’t be put right, so I’ll forgive myself that at least.

021613_0391edit021613_0399I’ve started my own business.  This feels really good as well.  I’m making custom Tees..screen-printing and such.  Tim built me all sorts of storage and work benches in the sunroom and the laundry room to do work in.  It’s so fun putting anything you want on a T-shirt anytime you want.  It’s also fun buying wholesale.  I’ll never pay more than 3 bucks for a shirt again. So hey if anyone needs any shirts made..holler.

I’ve also started working 2 days a week at a dentist office.  I was nervous at first, but turns out that Scar is still alive when I get home and it’s nice to meet new people again and contribute to society a little.  I was getting some pretty intense PPdepression I think and it’s helped to get out of the house.

Scarlett is crawling all over the place.  She started about 3 weeks ago and has mastered it. She really only uses crawling to get to things she can pull herself up on.  She loves drawers and anything with sharp edges.  We need to Scarlett proof this house.  I guess we thought we had more time.  It’s crazy chasing her, but it’s so fun watching her move around and seeing where she wants to go.  I’ve had to learn to mask my fear when she falls from her standing position.  She always looks at me to see if she’s hurt.  So I smile and she gives me a nervous laugh/cry and walks it off.  So proud of her.

We had our first pediatrician appointment a couple weeks ago.  Yes, I know, crazy.  She was seen by my midwife when she was 2 weeks old, but that’s the last we’ve seen of anyone.  We aren’t doing immunizations yet, if ever, so we haven’t really had a reason to go.  I thought it would be good to get established somewhere though, in case she gets sick one of these days.  Almost 8 months old and hasn’t been sick yet!  Woohoo!  Knock on wood.  The doc was amazing and I loved him.  He was really cool with the way I wanted to do things and didn’t pressure me into doing things a different way at all, which I really appreciated…and bonus, he was from South Africa so he had a cool accent.  Told Scarlett that her “mum has done a great job.”  So that made me feel great.  She’s apparently in the 50-75th percentile in height and weight and all that.  He said nutritionally she doesn’t need anything but breast milk until she’s 1, but that I could start giving her food to help her learn textures.  Maybe a good suggestion, but I don’t know of any young kid that really has huge texture issues..I kinda have texture issues with like, oatmeal and grits..but anyway, yeah probably gonna stick with just the BM only until she’s one.  I want her immune system to be strong and her stomach to be fully done developing and I read that doesn’t happen completely till 9 or 10 months.  So that’s our plan!  We’ll see how far we make it. 🙂

Valentine’s was great.  I accidentally put Scarlett’s heart hoodie on her on V-day.  Worked out well.  Tim was working out of town, but we celebrated on wednesday.  Bought each other some things we needed and had some brisket.  Pretty goood.

Scarlett had her own valentine:

photo 8photo 6photo 7

I think that puts us up to date!  Good things I think.  Here are some more photos for your viewing pleasure:

021013_0154 021013_0134 021013_0006 020613_0265 020613_0250 021013_0170 021013_0144 021013_0046 021613_0366 021613_0369 photo 10 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 9

7 thoughts on “2012 Year End Review/2013 New Beginnings

  1. Mary Hart says:

    Lavanda, I love reading your stories of you life. Thank you for taking the time posting this for everyone. She is getting soooo big. Looks like you have adjusted really well with your new life in a new place, state. Please keep them coming! Luv ya, Mary Hart

  2. Rachel Wason says:

    yay, you’re back! i’ve looked at the pictures/videos 3 times so far. it was the 3rd time that i noticed scar was in the first pic in your sunroom office….hahahaha! she is such a big girl and is growing too fast. love and miss.

  3. Mimi says:

    Like Rach, I’ve watched over and over! So glad you are feeling better. Sunroom looks great – I’m sure you’ll have fun making shirts in that bright yummy environment! I had to go back and look for Scarlett in the picture of the sunroom (after reading Rach’s post). Sure enough, there she is on the shelf! I didn’t see her any of the times I looked either! Love all the extra pics at the end too! I have such beautiful grandbabies! Loved seeing Mary’s post too! I’ll have to catch her sometime and have lunch, etc. Can’t wait to see you in a few weeks! Love and miss

  4. Meredith says:

    Her little side profile is the sweetest!! Glad you’re doing well!

  5. penny says:

    I noticed Scar in the first picture:) so proud of myself….I’m loving the stories too, please keep posting. Hard to believe all of you “kids” had babies this year! I’m very proud of all of you for being good “mums” and dads.

Leave a Reply

