double the V’s this year

10

February 14, 2013 by thegreatwideopenblog

readingvdaybud

This is my first year to have 2 Valentines! My dad was always good about doing something special with me for Valentine’s Day growing up. He brought me a rose to school a few times and almost always took me on a date. I would get dressed up in something unfortunate like a red velvet dress and panty hose. With a bow wrapped around a crooked pony tail that revealed a couple of ears that stuck out a little too far. He would take me somewhere fancy like the old Oxford Street Pub. One year he forgot to make reservations though and we ended up in our Sunday best at McDonald’s. Which was sadly a dream come true for me at the time.

I hear people around me making their big plans this year. Fancy reservations. Surprise presents. Romantic desserts. Us? We have no plans. No sitter. I am going to go home after a hard day of good work and enjoy life as usual with my boys. I’m going to play with my baby Valentine until his eyes are droopy. When I can finally coerce him to sleep, I’m going to stare at his chubby face and try to memorize how he looked on his first Valentine’s Day. Then I’m going to hang out with my grown Valentine and his mountain-man beard in this place we call home. And lastly…I’m going to thank God. For my wonderful life. I think it will be my best Valentine’s Day ever.

Instead of cute little VDay cards, Davis would like to send you a much better alternative: these pictures.

VDay

window thermometer high chair bud bath buddriving

cat tail foodie

10 thoughts on “double the V’s this year

  1. Meredith says:

    I just teared up. Yous a good writer. I tear up a lot lately. Probably because our babies are almost one. So, i’ll be memorizing the face of this love bug over here, too!!

  2. Lynette says:

    Precious! Sounds like a perfect Valentine evening to me. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your two special (and Very Lucky) boys!

  3. Cassie says:

    Hahahahahahaha… I still live it when he sticks his tongue out. He looks pretty hilarious trying to eat the cat too!

  4. Gaye Peake says:

    What a wonderful Valentine present. I love all the pictures. I had fun with him for a few minutes today babysitting for my Valentine present. My first great grandbaby is so precious and I love him so much. What a beautiful tribute to both of your guys, Rachel. You are a wonderful writer. Love you, Memaw

    Date: Thu, 14 Feb 2013 00:33:39 +0000 To: peake911@hotmail.com

  5. Mimi says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! (I’m late sending it, but hopefully a little valentine pkg will arrive soon for my little grandbaby thing;) Beautiful valentine thoughts from you and beautiful valentine pictures from Davis! Love the way he is concentrating so hard on his driving – hee hee! And wow – what perfect kittens to let Davis yell and play with them! Yes, I’m sure you’re right – it will be the best Valentine’s day ever! Love, love and miss

  6. Mimi says:

    Is it just me thinkin’ it, or does Davis have a precocious reading ability?! Love that picture! love and miss

  7. jkr02b says:

    Love your exciting plans! Sounds like a perfect V-Day to me! And I love all the precious pictures. The one of him grabbing the cat’s tail is priceless! Holy cow, what a cutie!

  8. Too precious for words!
    So excited that you get to just be so in love with those boys today! Enjoy every last moment for me and make sure to deliver a sweet kiss and extra big hug to the little cutie (Davis…)!

    I miss and love you all!

  9. lavandaw says:

    so sweet. I love the tongue sticking out..and him checking the temperature in his mouth. What a sweet little valentine. Can’t wait to give him loves and kisses. Lub.

Leave a Reply

