half birthday

5

October 6, 2012 by thegreatwideopenblog

Davis is 6 months old today. That’s half a year. My baby is half a year old. That fact alone makes me want to eat a gallon of ice cream and cry alone in the dark.

This month he’s learned how to sit up really well, had his first fever blister and loved playing with anything that is not a toy: my purse, water bottles, real keys, shoes, DVD cases (see photo above) and anything else he can get his chubby little paws on. I don’t have his official height and weight for the month yet but my back tells me that he’s still huge. Here is a video of him in his jumper…I don’t think he realizes that he can jump in it.

The older he gets, the faster it goes by. I remember praying as a little girl that God would make my school days go by fast and my evenings and weekends go by slow. As an adult, I prayed the exact same thing but replaced school with work. Nowadays? I just wish time would stop altogether.

Right now I’m his favorite person.

Right now there are times when I’m the only person in the world that can comfort him.

Right now he wants to be reassured that I’m close in the middle of the night.

Some day my baby will be crawling. Walking. Graduating. Too big to hold in my arms and rock.

Some day my baby is going to love a girl like his daddy loves me.

Some day he will know the heartbreaking joy of being a parent.

And at this pace, those days will come all too soon. Happy half birthday, baby boy. You are the greatest joy I’ve ever known.

5 thoughts on “half birthday

  1. lavandaw says:

    tears in my eyes. lub

  2. Cassie says:

    Well, thanks for making me get all teary-eyed right before I walk into Ikea.

  3. Meredith Tracy says:

    Hahahah same. I really don’t know how this is happening.

  4. randydavis6 says:

    Sweet

  5. Mimi says:

    Yes, a very sweet post 🙂 Love and miss

Leave a Reply

